Salt Lake City

Planning - Sustainability City Code Initative

What the City is Doing

Salt Lake City's Sustainable City Code Initiative is a ground-breaking initiative to incorporate sustainability provisions into zoning and subdivision ordinances. Planning is currently working on code amendments in the following areas.


On February 3, 2011, an update on the Initiative was given during the Mayor's Community Council Breakfast. View that update here. (PDF)


On December 9, 2010, Clarion Associates, the City's consulting firm for the Initiative presented an update to City Staff. View that update here.

Clarion also gave a presentation on the Initiative during the December 9, 2010 Open House. View that presentation here.

  1. Mayor Becker's Vision Document

Vision for a Green City: Salt Lake City's Sustainable City Code Initiative

  1. Renewable Energy & Urban Farming 

Renewable Energy Systems Brochure

Accessory Structures Ordinance (Ord. 20 of 2011, adopted April 26, 2011)

Urban Agriculture and Large Renewable Energy Site Uses Ordinance (Ord. 21 of 2011, adopted May 3, 2011) 

  1. Accessory Dwelling Units

Fact Sheet

Accessory Dwelling units Draft Ordinance (Revised, January 2011)

(Staff: Michael Maloy, 801-535-7118 or michael.maloy@slcgov.com)

Accessory Dwelling Unit Presentation at Mayor's Community Council Breakfast, Spetember 1, 2010

  1. Landscaping Amendments

Tree Protection Fact Sheet

Water Efficient Landscaping Fact Sheet

Water Efficient Landscaping Video

Water Efficient Landscaping Draft Ordinance

Tree Protection Draft Ordinance (Staff: Doug Dansie, 801 535-6182 or doug.dansie@slcgov.com)

  1. Recycling and Construction Waste Reduction

Fact Sheet

Ordinance (Updated March 2012)

Recycling and Construction Waste Reduction Video

(Staff: Ana Valdemoros, 801 535-7236 or ana.valdemoros@slcgov.com)

  1. Outdoor Lighting Standards

Fact Sheet (Revised, January 2011)

Outdoor Lighting Video

(Staff: Michaela Oktay, 801 535-6003 or michaela.oktay@slcgov.com)

  1. Parking and Reduction of Vehicle Miles Traveled (TDM)

Proposed Ordinance (August 2012)

TDM Video

(Staff: Nick Britton, 801 535-6107 or nick.britton@slcgov.com)

  1. Connectivity: Subdivision Ordinance Rewrite

Details not yet available

(Staff: Casey Stewart, 801 535-6260 or casey.stewart@slcgov.com)